BAOSTEEL Australia

Professor Aibing Yu

Chair of the Technical Advisory Panel (TAP)
Monash University

Professor Aibing Yu specialised in process metallurgy, obtaining BEng in 1982 and MEng in 1985 from Northeastern University, PhD in 1990 from University of Wollongong (UoW), and DSc in 2007 from the University of New South Wales (UNSW). He is currently Professor, Pro Vice-Chancellor and President-Suzhou, Monash University. He has been Inaugural Director of UNSW Centre for Simulation and Modelling of Particulate Systems, Deputy Director of ARC Centre of Excellence for Functional Nanomaterials, Founding Director of Australia-China Joint Research Centre for Minerals, Metallurgy and Materials, and ARC Research Hub for Computational Particle Technology. He is also Chair, Technical Advisory Committee of Baosteel-Australian Universities Joint R&D Centre. 

He is a world-leading scientist in particle/powder technology and process engineering. He has made many significant contributions and is recognised as an authority in particle packing and flow, particulate and multiphase processing, and simulation and modelling. He has authored/co-authored >1,000 publications (including >750 collected in the ISI Web of Science), delivered many invited plenary/keynote presentations at various international conferences, and graduated >40 postdoc fellows and >100 PhD students. He is an Executive Editor of Powder Technology and Regional Editor of Granular Matter, and on the editorial board of ~20 learned journals. 

He is a recipient of numerous prestigious awards/fellowships including ARC Australian Professorial and and Federation Fellowships, Josef Kapitan Award from Iron and Steel Society (ISS), Ian Wark Medal from Australian Academy of Science, ExxonMobile Award from Australian and New Zealand Federation of Chemical Engineers, NSW Scientist of Year in the category of engineering, mathematics and computer science, and the Top 100 Most Influential Engineers in Australia, AIChE-Thomas Baron Award in Fluid-Particle Systems. He was elected to Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE) in 2004, Australian Academy of Science (AAS) in 2011, and Foreign Academician of Chinese Academy of Engineering in 2017.